Need help with your rental during COVID-19?


Updated on

How Much Can Landlords Charge for Application Fees in New York?

New state laws cap applications fees at $20—but you can avoid the fee completely if you provide your own background or credit check.


As of 2019, New York landlords (and any brokers acting on their behalf) can only charge application fees up to $20 per person. But keep in mind that the fee is only meant to reimburse your prospective landlord for the costs of conducting a credit and background check. If their costs were less than $20, the landlord can only charge you the amount they actually spent.

Or you can avoid an application fee altogether if you already have a recent screening report on hand. Landlords are required by law to waive the fee if you can provide them with a copy of a background check or credit check that’s been conducted in the past 30 days.

The information provided on this website does not, and is not intended to, constitute legal advice.


Can’t find your question?

Have a specific question that's not answered in one of our Learn articles? Submit it here and we might be able to create a new article.