Home
Log In
Sign Up
BrowseHelp
CommunityHow To SubletAlaska

How To Sublet Legally In Alaska

Posted by Roger Graham | Checked for accuracy and updated

The Bottom Line: According to The Alaska Landlord and Tenant Act, landlords cannot unreasonably refuse your request to sublet.

  1. Send a letter. The prospective subtenant must make a signed written offer to the landlord containing the following information:

    • name, age, and present address
    • occupation, present employment, and name and address of employer
    • how many people will live in the apartment
    • two credit references
    • the names and addresses of all the applicant’s landlords for the past three years
  2. Await approval. After receiving the application information, the landlord has 14 days to answer the request. If he does not respond in 14 days, then his silence is assumed consent and you can go ahead and sublet!

    If the landlord rejects your request, know that he can only refuse a proposed subtenant for legitimate and very specific reasons. In other words he can not unreasonably prevent a sublet and must provide a written basis for the decision.

    Legal grounds for refusal may include:

    • insufficient credit standing or financial responsibility
    • too many people for the residence
    • unwillingness of the new tenant to accept the terms of the rental agreement
    • the tenant’s pets are not acceptable
    • a bad report from a former landlord of the prospective tenant
    • the tenant’s proposed commercial activity
  3. Contact a Tenants Rights lawyer. The Delaney Wiles Law Firm will be happy to advise you on legal action and ensure that your rights are protected!

  4. Stay Responsible. Remember just because you aren’t living in the place anymore, doesn’t mean that you aren’t held accountable to the terms of your lease. It is still up to you to make sure that the rent is paid on time and that none of the lease terms are broken.

Alaska

Alaska

Population

741,894

Tenant Legal Climate

Warm and Partly Cloudy

Avg. 1 Bedroom Rent

$1,061/month

Quick tip?

The law says your landlord cannot unreasonably refuse your sublet. Be courteous and you should be good to go here.