Home
Log In
Sign Up
BrowseHelp
CommunityHow To SubletOregon

How to Sublet Legally in Oregon

Posted by Roger Graham | Checked for accuracy and updated

The Bottom Line: According to Oregon Property Law, you must obtain written approval from your landlord prior to subletting. After obtaining approval, then you, the sublesee, and the landlord must sign a written agreement, which ensures that the sublessee follows all lease terms.

  1. Check your lease. Most likely, your lease contains a clause which requires you to obtain your landlord’s approval prior to subletting.
  2. Mail a letter. You should send a letter to your landlord via certified mail, return-receipt requested, and save a copy of the document for your own records. Certified mail is the only proof of delivery that most courts will accept and thus is the best way to protect yourself. The letter should clearly outline the terms of the agreement and include the following information:

    • The term (starting and end dates) of the sublet or the date of the proposed assignment (30 days from when you sent the letter)
    • The name of the proposed subtenant or assignee
    • The permanent home address of the proposed subtenant or assignee
    • Your reason for subletting or leaving permanently
    • Your new address during the sublease if applicable
    • The written consent of any co‑tenant
    • A copy of the proposed sublease

    If you don’t feel like drafting your own agreement, we’ve got you covered.

    Customize your own Flip sublease agreement
    Easily generate a free contract in a couple of minutesPatterned background

  3. Wait for approval. Within thirty days of mailing the initial notice your landlord must respond to your inquiry. If the landlord doesn’t respond then their consent is assumed and you are free to sublet.

    If your landlord rejects your request, know that they can only refuse proposed subtenants based on legitimate factors.

    Legal grounds for refusal may include:

    • The financial responsibility of the proposed assignee or subtenant.
    • Intended use of the property.
    • The legality of the proposed use.
    • The nature of the occupancy.
    • The compatibility of the tenant’s use with the uses of the other tenants.
  4. Contact a Tenants Rights lawyer. The Jeffery W. Fox Law Firm will be happy to advise you on legal action and ensure that your rights are protected!

  5. Stay responsible. In Oregon both you and the sublessee are held accountable to the terms of your lease. It is still up to you to make sure that your rent is paid on time and that none of the lease terms are broken.

Oregon

Oregon

Population

4,093,465

Tenant Legal Climate

Warm and Partly Cloudy

Avg. 1 Bedroom Rent

$774/month

Quick tip?

The law says your landlord cannot unreasonably refuse your sublet. Be courteous and you should be good to go here.